The Accounting Club's 2015-2016 Executive Board will be attending the IMA Student/Educator Awards Luncheon in Florida in the fall to accept the Clark Johnson Award.

UH Mānoa Accounting Club Received the Clark Johnson Achievement Award From IMA

The Accounting Club (IMA Student Chapter) at the UH Manoa Shidler College of Business has been named the recipient of the Clark Johnson Achievement Award for 2015 from the Institute of Management Accountants (IMA). The award recognizes an IMA student chapter whose efforts best reflect outstanding leadership.

“We are pleased and honored to be recognized by IMA,” says Jenny Teruya, associate professor of accounting and Accounting Club advisor at the Shidler College of Business. “The members of the Accounting Club have shown outstanding dedication and teamwork toward meeting the award criteria. I am so proud of their accomplishments.”

Chapters are judged on their innovation, organizational development, ties to the community, service to their current and potential members, professional quality of the presentation and strategic plan. The Clark Johnson Achievement Award winner receives a grant award of $5,000 courtesy of Johnson & Johnson. The award is named after Clark Johnson, chief financial officer of Johnson & Johnson from 1988-1997.

Officers of the Accounting Club will receive the award at the IMA Student/Educator Awards Luncheon on November 13, 2015 in Lake Buena Vista, Florida.

Established in 1964, the Shidler College of Business Accounting Club is a proud Student Chapter of the Institute of Management Accountants whose main goal is to promote the professional and personal development of its members. In cooperation with the School of Accountancy, the Accounting Club provides additional perspectives and supplemental information concerning public, private and governmental accounting through carefully planned social and business-oriented events. The Accounting Club is one of the largest and most active student organizations at the University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa and welcome students from all academic disciplines.