Past Honorees

Celebrate a Legacy in Tourism - Past Honorees

“Celebrate a Legacy in Tourism” was initiated in 1999 to honor Dean Emeritus, Chuck Y. Gee as he retired from the School of Travel Industry Management after over thirty years of service.

The School has continued the tradition of honoring a “legacy in tourism” in partnership with its Advisory and Alumni Boards. The event honors an individual who has made significant and long-term contributions to the travel industry in Hawai‘i.  From 2007-2009, the School collaborated with the Hawai‘i Hospitality Hall of Fame to honor leaders (posthumously) that were influential in Hawaii’s tourism.

Over the years, the event proceeds from this celebration have provided support for the School’s programs such as the establishment of the Gee Technology Learning Center at the TIM School, scholarships, teaching awards, Nā Kukui (Executive Mentor/Student Program) and graduation receptions.  Since 2011, all proceeds have benefitted student scholarship awards.

2023Keith Vieira, Principal, KV & Associates Hospitality Consulting, LLC
2022Roy Yamaguchi, Chef and Founder, Roy’s Worldwide, Eating, House 1849, Humble Market, Kitchin, GOEN Dining + Bar
2021Paul Kosasa, President & CEO, ABC Stores
2019Vicky Cayetano, President & CEO, United Laundry Services, Inc.
2018Jerry Gibson, Area Vice President, Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
2016Peter Lenkov, Executive Producer Hawai'i Five-O The late Leonard Freeman, Creator
2015Chris Tatum, Marriott International
2013Patricia Tam, Halekūlani Corporation
2012Ernest Nishizaki, Kyo-ya Company LLC
2011Mark Dunkerley, Hawaiian Airlines
2009Hawai'i Hospitality Hall of Fame Honorees (multiple honorees)
2008Hawai'i Hospitality Hall of Fame Honorees (multiple honorees)
2007Hawai'i Hospitality Hall of Fame Honorees (multiple honorees)
2006School of Travel Industry Management (40th Anniversary)
2005Peter Schall, Hilton Hotels Hawai'i
2004Dr.Richard Kelley, Outrigger Enterprises, Inc.
2003Ambassador L.W. “Bill” Lane, Jr. and Mrs. Jean Lane, Sunset Magazine
2002Former Governor George Ariyoshi
2001Robert Burns, Regent International Hotels
2000John Brogan, Sheraton Hotels
1999Chuck Yim Gee, School of Travel Industry Management

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award is presented at the Celebrate A Legacy in Tourism Event.

2023Alaska Airlines
2019Native Hawaiian Hospitality Association
2018Hawai'i Lodging & Tourism Association
2016Noel Trainor
2004Travel Weekly
2003Club Managers of America Association - Paradise of the Pacific
2002J. Hans Strasser
2001Hawai'i Hotel Association
2000Pacific Asia Travel Association (PATA)
1999Peter Fithian
1998Sea Land Service
1997Stephen R.P. Boyle
1996Peter Schall
1995Manuel Woo
1994Japan Travel Bureau, Inc.
1993ITT Sheraton Hawai'i Japan
1992Claire W. Engle
1991Kahala Hilton Hotel
1990Aloha Airlines
1989Jean E. Rolles
1988John C. Brogan
1987Bernice C. Loui
1986Robert J. Pfeiffer
1985Gregory M.B. Tong
1984Bill Lane, Jr.
1983Robert H. Burns
1982Richard T. Hashimoto
1981Larry M.K. Tchou
1980Kenneth F.C. Char

Hall of Honor Alumni Inductees

Established in 1992, the School of Travel Industry Management (TIM) created the Alumni Hall of Honor to recognize graduates of the school who have distinguished themselves and brought honor to their alma mater through exemplary professional achievement, dedicated service to their communities and support for the TIM School.

2023Clinton Inouye
2022Dave Evans
2021Glenn Vergara
2019Lee-Ann Choy

Glenn Perry

Clinton K. Inouye (Alumni Distinguished Service Award)

2016Daniel Chun
2015Julie Arigo
2013Kevin Iwamoto
2012Allan Lum
2011Joseph Toy

Audrey Higuchi

Alan Ong


Ed Wary

Anthony Wong

2006All Alumni Honorees
2005Dean Nakasone
2004Lois Sismar
2003Ren Hirose
2002Tsuyoshi Sakata
2001Paul Yokota
2000Paul Tang

Johnson Choi

Theodore "Ted" Sakai

1998Kathy Inkinen
1997Richard Hartman

Clyde Min

Joseph Pluta

1995Tim Marsden
1994Michael White
1993Roberta Wong Leung