Faculty & Research

The Shidler College of Business faculty is a diverse group of internationally accomplished researchers, teachers, and consultants. They play an active role in local, national, and international business communities, serving as board members, editors, speakers, and administrators to top educational business organizations. Most hold doctoral degrees, many from prestigious universities such as Columbia, Carnegie-Mellon, MIT, Stanford, Purdue, and Harvard.

The Shidler faculty rank well for research productivity. For example, in a study published in The Academy of Management Journal, the College was ranked 22nd for research productivity in International Business and 26th for research productivity in Management Information Systems.

Many Shidler faculty hold endowed chairs for their research:

  • Jing Ai - First Insurance Company Distinguished Professor
  • Dana Alden - William R. Johnson, Jr. Distinguished Professor
  • Tung Bui - Matson Navigation Company Chair of Global Business
  • Hua Chen - First Insurance Company Distinguished Professor
  • Qimei Chen - Harold and Sandy Noborikawa Chair of Entrepreneurship, Marketing and Information Technology
  • Elizabeth Davidson - W. Ruel Johnson Distinguished Professor
  • Sonia Ghumman - Shidler College Faculty Fellow
  • Nathaniel Hartmann - Shidler College Faculty Fellow
  • Marjan Houshmand - Family Business Center of Hawai‘i Distinguished Professor
  • Miao Hu - Shidler College Faculty Fellow
  • Victor Wei Huang - John and Sue Dean Distinguished Professor
  • Kiyohiko Ito - Shidler College Distinguished Professor
  • Boo Chun Jung - Shidler College Distinguished Professor
  • Prasanna Karhade - Shidler College Faculty Fellow
  • Tamar Kreps - Shidler College Faculty Fellow
  • Jee-Hae Lim - Shidler College Distinguished Professor
  • Qianqiu Liu - Shidler College Distinguished Professor
  • Randy Minas - Hon Kau and Alice Lee Distinguished Faculty Fellow
  • Hannah-Hahn Nguyen - Shidler College Faculty Fellow
  • You-il (Chris) Park - Accuity LLP Accounting Faculty Fellow
  • Hamid Pourjalali - Donald A. Corbin Distinguished Professor in Accounting
  • Ghon Rhee - K.J. Luke Distinguished Chair Professor of International Finance and Banking
  • Vance Roley - First Hawaiian Bank Chair of Leadership and Management
  • Daniel Spencer - William R. Johnson, Jr. Distinguished Professor of Travel Industry Management
  • Stephen Vargo - Shidler College Distinguished Professor
  • Bo Sophia Xiao - Shidler College Distinguished Associate Professor
  • Yanmei Zheng - Shidler College Faculty Fellow
  • Jian Zhou - Lloyd Fujie/Deloitte Foundation Distinguished Professor in Accounting

Centers & Institutes